Local GovernmentNews

Muskegon Moves Four Polling Due To Redistricting, Building Closures

Andrew Trzaska | June 12, 2012

Four polling places around the City of Muskegon will be moving starting with the August elections this year.

Tuesday’s vote by Muskegon City Commission is the last step to finalizing the changes that have been underway since late last year, when 2010 Census results became available.

With the recent closures of Bluffton and McLaughlin elementaries. the precincts the use of those buildings will no longer be possible by the city.

Those who would have reported to Bluffton Elementary should now report fo the Great Lakes Naval Museum down along the Muskegon channel.  Those who would have gone to McLaughlin will now be asked to report to city hall.

The Hackley Administration building will no longer be used as well. City documents stated that the building’s unique architecture makes it difficult to get the building comply Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

Nelson School will also no longer be a polling place due to redistricting earlier this year, which was driven by the 2010 Census.  Those who were set to report to Nelson to vote should now go to the Department of Public Works building, at 1350 E. Keating.

A 14-precinct plan, divided into 4 wards for electing commissioners, initially received authorization from the commission at the end of January, but was not enacted for the February primaries because of the minimal time to prepare and inform the public.

McLaughlin was set to be moved to City Hall back in January, but with Bluffton’s closure finalized in April, the additional relocation was needed.

Regarding the specifics of new precinct boundaries, the City of Muskegon’s new map is not yet available, according to the City Clerk’s office. Residents can contact the City Clerk at (231) 724-4172 with specific questions about what precinct they now inhabit.

After today’s vote, precinct locations and addresses are as follows:

Precinct 1 – Muskegon Community College, 221 S. Quarterline

Precinct 2 – Marquette School, 480 Bennett

Precinct 3 – Muskegon Middle School (formerly Steele Middle School), 1150 Amity

Precinct 4 – Oakview School, 1420 Madison

Precinct 5 – Smith-Ryerson Park, 650 Wood

Precinct 6 – Muskegon City Hall, 933 Terrace

Precinct 7 – Muskegon City Hall, 933 Terrace

Precinct 8 – Muskegon Department of PublicWorks, 1350 Keating

Precinct 9 – Moon School, 1826 Hoyt

Precinct 10 – Fire Station No. 4, 1836 Robinson

Precinct 11 – Glenside School, 1213 W. Hackley

Precinct 12 – McGraft Park, Glen Avenue

Precinct 13 – Bunker School, 2312 Denmark

Precinct 14 – Great Lakes Naval Museum, 1346 Bluff Street

The current ward alignments (as of January 2012):

Ward 1 – Precincts 1, 2, 3 and 4 Eric Hood

Ward 2 – Precincts 5, 6 and 7 Willie German Jr.

Ward 3 – Precincts 8, 9 and 10 – Larry Spataro

Ward 4 – Precincts 11, 12, 13 and 14 – Byron Turnquist

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.