Local GovernmentNews

Muskegon City Commission Keeps Gawron As Vice Mayor, Swears In Four Commissioners

Andrew Trzaska | January 4, 2012

At its first organizational meeting of 2012, the city commission of Muskegon reaffirmed its current Vice Mayor and swore in four commissioners elected back in November.

Traditionally held as early in the calendar year as possible, the commission’s organizational meeting usually involves making appointments to various positions in the city, swearing in of elected officials and other business that will govern the day-to-day operations of the city in the coming months.

Sworn in for Ward 1 was Eric Hood, and Byron Turnquist was sworn in for Ward 4.  Both ran unopposed in November.  Neither is a stranger to city hall; Hood spent time on the Muskegon police force and Turnquist has spent multiple years on the city’s planning commission.

Ward 2 saw the swearing in of Willie German, Jr., who defeated 4-term incumbent Clara Shepherd two months ago.

Tuesday also saw the reaffirmation of Larry Spataro, who won reelection for his fourth term representing Ward 3.

Following the swearing in of all four commissioners, the full group unanimously voted to keep city commissioner Steve Gawron in his current role as Vice Mayor.

The vice mayor is selected from among the six city commissioners after every election.

The holders of many of the city’s other appointed positions, including City Clerk and City Assessor, remained the same this year.  It also re-confirmed the use of Parmenter O’Toole as its legal counsel.

Jeffrey Lewis – new Director of Public Safety was also introduced at the meeting. He officially started his duties with the city on January 3. Lewis replaced Anthony Kleibecker, who went to Michigan State University late last year. A 30-year law enforcement veteran, Lewis came from Milan, MI where he served as chief of police.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.